My experiences with Social Networking

I use Facebook to keep in touch with family members and old friends. Image

This photograph is of our private family group on Facebook. It’s sole purpose is to reminisce about old memories and to share stories about my grandfather after he passed away. I also use Facebook to share pictures of good times I’ve had with friends.

Sometimes a thought will pop into my mind and I will post a status to see what everyone else thinks. I will occasionally use Facebook chat.

One of the big things I use Facebook for is self promotion. I like to share my poetry through notes. Image

 

I also like to try to get my name out there as far as photography goes, so I made myself a photography page displaying most of my work. Image

The only other account I have is Pinterest. I’ve only had it for about a month and I’m begging to feel as though is it less of a social networking site and more of a sharing site. I haven’t ever talked to anyone on Pinterest. It is more about photography than communication. I use Pinterest as more of a bookmark for things that I would like to look at again. I don’t have a smart phone so I access all of these sites with my laptop. I do feel as though I waste too much time on these sites and not enough time doing “real” things with my “own” life as Sherry says in the Ted video. I feel like while being “social”  through these sites leads to a disconnect socially in real life.

2 thoughts on “My experiences with Social Networking

  1. I use facebook to keep in touch with family and friends as well. Most of my family live in other states and the ones that do live in New York are at least 2 hours away so facebook is a nice way to share photos with each other and to keep in touch. I can see how facebook is a perfect opportunity to advertise your photography and poems. Millions of people are on facebook and I feel most people get their daily “news” on whats going on in the world and where to find local businesses through facebook rather than the newspapers or other advertising sources like they use to.

  2. I think that is such a good idea to publish your poetry. Like YouTube has been used to get up-and-coming singers/songwriters noticed, Facebook is a great way to show off your creativity. I’ve posted some of my newspaper page designs I’ve done over the years on my page to show off to family and college friends back in St. Louis. Unfortunately, they don’t get the O-D, but Facebook has been the perfect place for them to see what I’ve accomplished.

Leave a Reply

