Kindle-Assignment 5

I got a Kindle for Christmas, and I’ve actually found that I read a lot more now. This has a lot to do with convenience. I don’t have to drive somewhere to buy a book, or order one and wait for it to come in the mail. The buying process is so quick and instant. Kindle allows me to download classic books for free also, like “A Tale of Two Cities,” “Dracula,” “Tom Sawyer,” etc. I read my Kindle everywhere. It’s nice to have on breaks at work, in between classes, waiting rooms, etc. Any other book I ever took with me would get wrecked in my bag or purse, so it’s nice to not have to worry about that. I have close to 70 books downloaded to my kindle, and have read Five since January. I usually read  five books within a year, not six months. I like that I can have all of these books, and it doesn’t even take up the space of one book. The books are slightly cheaper too. When I got the kindle I bought the hunger games books for it. I got sucked in like everyone else ! Image

I really like this picture, so I had to share it.

There are a few things I miss about paperback and hardcover books. I miss the smell of new, and even old paper in a book. I miss the cover art as well. I have an older kindle that is Black and White and doesn’t show cover art.

I do still buy some real books on occasion. Everything that I buy from national geographic, including the magazine, I would much rather buy the actual copies. The photographs are too beautiful to miss out on. An E-book couldn’t do national geographic justice. The last books I read before getting the Kindle, were any Ayn Rand books I could find. Her books are classic, philosophical books and completely amazing.

Image

Here are my three favorite Ayn Rand books.

I’m not really sure if one can collect comic books on an E-reader. It doesn’t really seem like the same thing.I had to look it up on Wikipedia. According to Wikipedia “The hobby of collecting includes seeking, locating, acquiring, organizing, cataloging, displaying, storing, and maintaining whatever items are of interest to the individual collector.” On an E-reader, one wouldn’t have to really locate or acquire comics, since the comic could be found in seconds without leaving the house, and downloaded(acquired) at the click of a button. The comics couldn’t truly be displayed to many people on such a small screen, while only being able to view one comic at a time. I’ve come to the conclusion that one can not collect comics on an E-reader, based on this Wikipedia definition. Image

I’ve never really been a big comic book reader, but if I were I would have to get the Kindle Fire to read it in vibrant color. My black and white kindle simply wouldn’t do. The picture above seems to display the colors in a good light.

So, all in all I read mostly on my Kindle, but I can’t resist a real book on occasion.

One thought on “Kindle-Assignment 5

Leave a Reply

