The Edge of the World

My cousin Domenica and I have remained very close throughout the years. We are very close in age and grew up together as best friends. We used to blow bubbles in our chocolate milk and impersonate bugs bunny when we ate cheese doodles saying, “What’s up doc?” We have done so many silly things in our lives including putting pillows in our belly to copy our pregnant aunt. We have been there for each other through thick and thin.

Domenica and I would often play with barbies and little plastic dogs, carefully picking each one we wanted to play with and making them each characters with voices. At large family gatherings we would go off into the other room by ourselves and sometimes with our other cousins and just play. Now, at family gatherings, we talk about life, love, college, and plans for the future. We grew up quickly. At these family gatherings, we used to look at each other and say these exact words: “Are you thinking what I’m thinking?” This always meant “We should have a sleepover tonight !” To this the other would respond “I know what you’re thinking!” That’s when we would have a big sleepover if our parents would allow it. At least half of the time they did.

I’ll never forget one of the first few times I went over to Domenica’s house as a kid. I’ll never forget the first time I saw “The Edge of the World.” While I was over, my Aunt MT and Uncle Mike would say “Do you want to see the edge of the world?” At that age I was so curious and fascinated by the idea, full of wonder and amazement. The idea of seeing the edge of the world was huge to me. I always agreed. I knew it wasn’t really the edge of the world, but that’s not what it was about to me. I got in the car, and we drove to the edge of the world almost every time I was over. It was at the top of this hill that looked like it was 100 miles high and incredibly steep. It always felt like we were on a roller coaster and we treated it that way. Right when we got to the almost tippy top, my Uncle Mike would say “Are you ready to see the edge of the world? Here it comes.” There was a point on the top of the hill where you couldn’t see anything past it. It really looked like the edge of the world. It looked like if you went any further you would fall off of the edge. It was one of the most neat experiences of my childhood. On the way down the big hill, we always put our hands up like we were on a roller coaster. The edge of the world: one of my favorite childhood destinations.

 

Image

My cousin Domenica in blue, cousin Maria and Aunt MT and Uncle Mike<3

Leave a Reply

