Passion

Everyone has had that confident feeling when they find something that comes naturally to them. For my entire life I’ve been kind of good at a number of things. I’ve been a jack of all trades and a master of none. I’ve been trying to find my niche as far as talent goes. I’ve been trying to find that one thing that I stand out in. I’m definitely a creative writer. I’m a poet and a lyricist.

I’ve been writing poetry for close to 10 years. I didn’t start out great, but after a few years I produced poetry that I was really proud of. With this I felt this sense of accomplishment. I finally had a craft that I could call my own. At one point in time, I had an entire notebook filled. It’s neat to look back at old poems before they were fully crafted into the final, flawless product. The handwriting is messy and there are things scribbled out all over the page. There are doodles from times when I was brainstorming. The pages are ripped and crinkled and folded over. They are my thoughts in the most raw form. They are the art of a process.

Image

In the summer of 2010, I got to combine writing with my love of singing. This was probably the most amazing I’ve ever felt. The sense of pride was overwhelming. Never have I produced something so awesome that effortlessly. It was a late night in August when Aaron came over and started to play guitar. We were going to try the whole band thing out. I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I never really tried to write a song. The format of a poem was so much different. There was no verse/chorus structure. I wan’t used to that. I was excited, but certainly no overconfident. I was also a bit nervous because he had only heard me sing a couple of other times.

 

He started to play this really neat guitar riff, and the words just started flying out of me. It was almost an automatic response. The words came out instantly along with a great melody. It was this euphoric feeling. I was on cloud nine. My mind was clear of everything except for being in this perfect moment and feeling like a gifted person. My head was filled with the song. We did a quick, rough phone recording that I played about a hundred times, and then eventually recorded for real. We are going to go back and record it with higher grade equipment pretty soon since I literally sung into my computer mic to record. The recording was a little rough and It was a little more of a  “pop” sound than we were going for, but it was good and it was catchy! Sometimes we would show people and they would get the song stuck in their heads. It was a feel good song that everyone generally tended to like. It was definitely a good first step. It was a stepping stone closer to being a musician. I’ve never been so in one moment before. I’ve never been so in a moment that I couldn’t think about anything else but the moment that I’m in. Not until after I wrote “Johnny Sunshine” with Aaron.  

Leave a Reply

